When children begin school in the Reception Year they follow the Foundation Curriculum. This will build on their many rich experiences at home and in pre-school settings.

There are 7 areas of learning and development that shape The Foundation Stage Curriculum.  All areas of learning are important and inter-connected. 

These are the PRIME AREAS:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These areas are crucial for igniting the children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

We also support the children with four further areas of learning through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied. 

These are the SPECIFIC AREAS:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive art & design

Please see the links below for additional information:

Respect ● Kindness ● Working together ● Challenge ● Perseverance ● Curiosity ● Independence ● Equality